#### Essays in ESSAYS ESSAYS IN ESS

Vol. XXV, 2007



PUBLISHED BY CHAPMAN UNIVERSITY'S ARGYROS SCHOOL OF BUSINESS AND ECONOMICS

## Economic and Business Historical Society

Organized in 1975 by Charles Kennedy, the Economic and Business Historical Society encourages interdisciplinary scholarship in the areas of business and economic history and the application of historical perspectives to current issues. The membership includes historians, economists, business professionals, social scientists, and others who share these common interests. Members are located throughout the United States, Canada, Western Europe, and the Far East. Every year a select number of our members share their most recent work at our annual meeting, and the most significant papers from the meeting are selected for publication in our journal.

For membership information, contact: John Rossi, Secretary-Treasurer, jpr2@psu.edu

### Upcoming meetings:

Thirty-Second Annual Meeting April 26-28, 2007 Hilton Providence Hotel Providence, RI, USA *Contact:* Roberto.Mazzoleni@hofstra.edu

Thirty-Third Annual Meeting April, 2008 Montgomery, Alabama *Contact:* Silvano Wueschner, silvano@wueschner.org

#### Essays in Economic and Business History

Currently in its 25th year of publication, Essays in Economic and Business History is edited and printed at Chapman University in Orange, California. Articles for the journal are selected by a blind review process from papers submitted which have been presented at the Annual Meetings of the *Economic and Business Historical Society*.

## Subscription Information

Individuals subscribe by becoming members of the Economic and Business Historical Society. Library and institutions may subscribe for \$50 per annual edition. For information on the journal, contact: Lynne Pierson Doti, *Essays Editor*, ldoti@chapman.edu

> *Emeritus Editors:* James H. Soltow, 1976–83 (volumes 1 and 2) Edwin J. Perkins, 1984–93 (volumes 3–12) William R. Childs, 1994–98 (volumes 13–17) Michael V. Namorato, 1999–2003 (volumes 18–22) David O. Whitten, 2004–2006 (volumes 22–24)

Papers presented at the Annual Meetings, but not published in *Essays* may be available through *The Economic and Business Historical Society On-Line Proceedings Journal* For more information, contact: David O. Whitten, *Proceedings Editor*, DWhitten@Business.Auburn.Edu

# *Economic and Business Historical Society* OFFICERS AND TRUSTEES, 2006–2007

Chair of the Board of Trustees (Chief Executive Officer) James W. Stitt, Highpoint University President 2006-2007 **Roberto Mazzoleni,** Hofstra University President-Elect Silvano A. Wueschner, Air University USAF Vice-President for Membership Daniel Giedeman, Grand Valley State University Secretary/Treasurer John Paul Rossi, Pennsylvania State University-Erie Editor Lynne Pierson Doti, Chapman University Past President, 2005-2006 Michael V. Namorato, University of Mississippi Past President, 2003-2004 Kenneth Weiher, University of Texas at San Antonio Associate Editors Stephanie O. Crofton, High Point University Scott Dalrymple, Hartwick College D. Gene Pace, Claflin University **On-Line Proceedings Editor and Archivist** David O. Whitten, Auburn University Trustees Erik Benson, Cornerstone University Allen L. Bures, Radford University Ranjit S. Dighe, State University of New York-Oswego Jari Eloranta, Appalachian State University George Gibson, Union College Richard H. Keehn, University of Wisconsin-Parkside Malcolm B. Russell, Union College Wade E. Shilts, Luther College W. Gene Smiley, Marquette University Jason E. Taylor, Central Michigan University Janice Traflet, Bucknell University Thomas R. Winpenny, Elizabethtown College

Founder: Charles J. Kennedy, University of Nebraska

Chair of the Board of Trustees, emeritus Philip R. Smith, Michigan State University

# *Economic and Business Historical Society* AWARDS, 2006

**The Editor's Award,** recognizes contributors of multiple articles to *Essays in Economic and Business History* whose work over several years gave scholarly definition to the journal. 2006 (INAUGURAL) AWARD: **Erik Benson**, Cornerstone University for five contributions to aviation history.

**The James Soltow Award,** established in honor of the founder and first editor of *Essays in Economic and Business History*, is given for the best article in that year's issue of *Essays* by an author or authors who have not previously published in *Essays*.

2006 AWARD: **Anne Wohlcke**, Eastern Kentucky University for "Wives, Widows and Singlewomen: Working Women at London's Eighteenth-Century Fairs."



SOCIETY