Essays in Economic Business History



ECONOMIC AND BUSINESS HISTORICAL SOCIETY

OFFICERS AND TRUSTEES, 2004-2005

Chair of the Board of Trustees (Chief Executive Officer)

Laurence Malone, Hartwick College

President 2001-2002

Malcolm Russell, Union College

President, 2002-2003

Harvey Hudspeth, Mississippi Valley State University

President, 2003-2004

Kenneth Weiher, University of Texas at San Antonio

President 2004-2005

James Stitt, High Point University

President-Elect

Michael V. Namorato, University of Mississippi

Vice-President for Membership

Silvano A. Wueschner, Air University USAF

Secretary/Treasurer

John Paul Rossi, Pennsylvania State University-Erie

Editor

David O. Whitten, Auburn University

Associate Editors

Erik Benson, Ouachita Baptist University

Stephanie O. Crofton, High Point University

Thomas R. Winpenny, Elizabethtown College

Trustees

Lynne Pierson Doti, Chapman University, 2005

George Gibson, Union College, 2005

D. Gene Pace, Claflin University, 2005

Daniel Giedeman, Grand Valley State University, 2007

Richard H. Keehn, University of Wisconsin-Parkside, 2007

Roberto Mazzoleni, Hofstra University, 2007

William G. Smiley, Marquette University, 2007

Janice Traflet, Columbia University, 2007

Founder: Charles J. Kennedy, University of Nebraska

Chair of the Board of Trustees, emeritus

Philip R. Smith, Michigan State University

ECONOMIC AND BUSINESS HISTORICAL SOCIETY Annual Awards, 2004

THE CHARLES J. KENNEDY AWARD, established in honor of the founder of the Economic and Business Historical Society, is given annually to the author or authors of the best article published in that year's issue of Essays in Economic and Business History. The 2004 award was presented in Anaheim, California, to Antonio Calabria of the University of Texas at San Antonio for "The Cost of a Man's Life in Sixteenth-Century Naples: Galley Rowers on the Early Modern Mediterranean."

THE JAMES SOLTOW AWARD, established in honor of the founder and first editor of Essays in Economic and Business History, is given for the best article in that year's issue of Essays written by an author or authors who have not previously published in Essays. The 2004 award was presented in Anaheim, California, to Janice Traflet of Columbia University for "Spreading the Ideal of Mass Share-Ownership: Public Relations and the NYSE."